Under the initiative of the students of the department of Physics, an interdepartmental quiz competition was conducted on 28th February 2023 at the Seminar Hall as part of National Science Day celebrations. Arshad M. of the II MSc Physics was the Quiz Master. He was supported by Miwa Wilson, Jaseer O P, Aswathi P R and all the students of  II MSc Physics to conduct the quiz.

The quiz competition was based on general science topics and students from other Science departments- Chemistry, Mathematics, Biotechnology and Computer Science- participated in it. There were 18 teams in total with each team comprising of two students. The quiz competition was divided into two rounds, a preliminary round followed by final round. Six teams were shortlisted after the preliminary round. These six teams had to face variety of questions directed to them using audio visual presentation methods. After five rounds, Harry Wilson and Shivajith of III BCA won the First Prize and Midhun and Hafiz of III BT won the Second Prize.

Dr. Rose P Ignatius, Head of MSc Physics, handed over the cash prize to the winners. Dr. Sreeja S, HOD of Physics, delivered a heartfelt vote of thanks. She congratulated the students for organizing such a spectacular event. The quiz programme was coordinated and carried out exceptionally well by the students, right from selection of the questions, preparation of slides, sorting them into various rounds and the final execution. It was truly a team work by the students.

On this occasion, department also decided to felicitate students who have done well in their academics, curricular and extra-curricular activities. Sumayya M K of II MSc Physics was felicitated for presenting a paper at a National Conference hosted by BMC, Thrikkakkara. Shifana K H and Suhana Ali K A were awarded memento for securing the highest marks in the 4th and 1st semester University exams respectively. Shahul Hameed of II BSc Physics was also felicitated for his numerous victories in wrestling competitions.