Department of Physics, Al Ameen College, Edathala celebrated the centenary of the most iconic Physicist of the 20th century – Sir Richard Feynman. As a tribute to the Great Scientist, a one day seminar on “Relativity, Black hole & Gravity” was organized in the Seminar Hall at Al-Ameen College, Edathala on 12th September 2018.The Head of the department Ms. Hiba Rahman welcomed the gathering.Dr. N. Shaji,  Former HoD of Physics, Maharajas College, inaugurated the seminar at 9.30 a.m. Prof. M. B. Sasidharan , Principal, Al- Ameen College, presided the inaugural session. The keynote speaker at the seminar was Dr. Tharanath. R,Asst. Professor, Dept. of Physics, Aquinas College, Edakochi. He delivered the talk on “Special Theory of Relativity in Electrodynamics. Dr. Titus. K. Mathew, Professor, Dept. of Physics,  USAT delivered the invited talk on the topic ”Is gravity fundamental?”. In the concluding session Dr. N. Shaji spoke on “Black Holes: Basic concepts and Theory”. The community of Physics teachers and post graduate students from various colleges took part in the seminar and the celebration of Feynman’s scientific legacy. Ms. Sreeja C., convener (Assistant Professor, Physics Department, Al- Ameen college) proposed vote of thanks.

Seventy seven delegates from various colleges attended the seminar which included both
students and faculty members. The colleges which participated in the seminar are
1. St. Albert’s College, Ernakulam
2. The Cochin college, Cochin
3. St. Xavier’s College, Aluva
4. Sree Sankara College, Kalady
5. MES College, Marampilly
6. Aquinas College, Edakochi
7. St. Teresa’s College, Ernakulam
8. Bishop Moore College, Mavelikkara

Dr. N Shaji, the chief guest of the day distributed participation certificate to all the participants. Ms. Hiba Rahman launched the brochure for the “National Seminar on The feedback form was given to the participants which evaluated with the components (a)the scientific content of the invited talks,(b)Seminar organization (c)Hospitality and (d) Time management. The seminar concluded with the vote of thanks by the convener Ms Sreeja S.